Terms and Conditions for the Canada Suicide Prevention Service (CSPS) Chat, Text and Calls to 1-833-456-4566 Service

USE OF THE CSPS CHAT, CSPS TEXT, OR CALLS TO THE CSPS 1-833-456-4566 SERVICE (INDIVIDUALLY AND COLLECTIVELY, THE “SERVICE”) IS BOUND BY THE FOLLOWING TERMS AND CONDITIONS.

Please read the following statement before using this service. By using the Service, which is operated by Crisis Services Canada, you agree to the terms and conditions described below. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions, you may not use the Service.

NATURE OF THE SERVICE

YOUR PARTICIPATION IN THE SERVICE DOES NOT CONSTITUTE MENTAL HEALTH CARE OR TREATMENT AND DOES NOT CONSTITUTE AN ATTORNEY-CLIENT RELATIONSHIP OR A THERAPIST-PATIENT RELATIONSHIP OR ANY OTHER SORT OF PROFESSIONAL OR THERAPEUTIC RELATIONSHIP. THE SERVICE IS NOT A SUBSTITUTE FOR PROFESSIONAL HEALTH CARE. IF YOU BELIEVE YOU ARE EXPERIENCING A MEDICAL EMERGENCY, CALL YOUR DOCTOR OR 911 IMMEDIATELY.

The Canada Suicide Prevention Service (“we”, “our”, or “us”) and its employees, crisis responders, service providers, agents or any other entities with whom the Canada Suicide Prevention Service  has contracts are not responsible for any decisions, or results of the decisions that you make while, as a result of, or after participating in the Service. This includes whether you choose to seek or not seek professional care, or to modify or terminate specific treatment that you are currently receiving based on the information provided by the Service. You are responsible for all decisions you may or may not make during and after using the Service and assume all risk related to those decisions.

PRIVACY AND SECURITY AND THE COLLECTION OF DATA

We are committed to providing you the best possible service at all times.  Calls, Chats and Texts to the Canada Suicide Prevention Service’s crisis services may be monitored for training and quality assurance purposes.

We take your privacy and security very seriously.  Security controls, including encryptions and authentication, are in place to ensure the protection of your information. We will not share or disclose your personally identifiable information; however, we do reserve the right to disclose any personal information to the authorities as required or permitted by law, as well as to authorize the engagement of law enforcement or medical services to initiate a safety check.

In addition, we collect and store information, including the content of conversations occurring on the Service, which we use to create, or permit a third-party researcher subject to a strict confidentiality agreement to create anonymized aggregate information, that does not identify individual users, for the purpose of quality assurance and suicide prevention research aimed at contributing to the advancement of crisis intervention services.  Data from conversations collected, stored and used will follow the principle of minimal risk.  Data will be collected, stored and used only for the purpose of facilitating better help to clients, ensuring quality assurance and for clearly defined research objectives that we determine could contribute to the development of better practices in suicide prevention using new technologies.  An annual review of data being collected and retained will determine if the data collected will be deleted permanently or retained for a limited time for one or more of the purposes stated in this policy.

We may share this aggregated, non-personally identifiable information and any content of conversations occurring on the Service, with our partners, researchers or third-parties for these purposes.  Information allowing for the identification of individual users will not be associated with this aggregate information.

Despite these procedures, the internet is an imperfectly secure environment and the Canada Suicide Prevention Service cannot guarantee protection from intruders or interceptors.  You agree to use the Service and submit information at your own risk.  You agree that the Canada Suicide Prevention Service has no liability regarding unauthorized access to the Service.

ADDITIONAL DISCLAIMERS

The Service is provided on an “as is” basis and “as available” basis.  The Canada Suicide Prevention Service and its service providers do their utmost to maintain a high standard of care. However, the Canada Suicide Prevention Service and its service providers expressly disclaim all warranties of any kind, whether expressed or implied and make no warranty that the Service will: A) meet your requirements; B) be uninterrupted, timely, secure, or error-free; or C) meet your expectations.  The foregoing disclaimers of liability apply to all damages or injury, including those caused by any failure of performance, error, omission, interruption, deletion, defect or delay in operation or transmission, whether for breach of contract, tortious behavior, including negligence, or any other cause of action. 

The Canada Suicide Prevention Service and its employees, crisis responders, service providers, agents or any other entities with whom the Canada Suicide Prevention Service  has contracted shall have no liability for 1) actions taken by you or a third party, or not taken by you or a third party, or 2) the unavailability of the Service, and you agree to indemnify us and hold us harmless for damages arising out of A) your use of the Service, B) your breach of these Terms, C) your violation of the law, D) claims asserted by third parties that you are in breach of these Terms or E) information provided by your through the Canada Suicide Prevention Service.  Without limiting the foregoing, in no event shall the Canada Suicide Prevention Service be liable for any special, incidental, consequential, exemplary or indirect damages.

MODIFICATION OF TERMS, CONDITIONS AND PRIVACY POLICY

These Terms and Conditions may be modified from time to time. Any changes will be effective immediately upon posting. Each time you access this Service you will be presented with the current Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy for acceptance. You must agree to the modified terms to use this service.


You may also be interested in:

Back to top

Conditions du service de clavardage, de messagerie texte et d’appels du Service canadien de prévention du suicide (SCPS) au 1 833 456-4566

L’UTILISATION DU SERVICE DE CLAVARDAGE DU SCPS, DU SERVICE DE MESSAGERIE TEXTE DU SCPS OU DES APPELS AU SCPS AU 1 833456-4566 (INDIVIDUELLEMENT ET COLLECTIVEMENT, LE « SERVICE ») EST LIÉE PAR LES CONDITIONS SUIVANTES.

Veuillez lire la déclaration suivante avant d’utiliser ce service. En utilisant le Service, qui est exploité par Services de crises du Canada, vous acceptez les conditions décrites ci-dessous. Si vous n’acceptez pas les conditions, vous ne pouvez pas utiliser le service.

NATURE DU SERVICE

VOTRE PARTICIPATION AU SERVICE NE CONSTITUE PAS DES SOINS OU UN TRAITEMENT DE SANTÉ MENTALE ET NE CONSTITUE PAS UNE RELATION AVOCAT-CLIENT OU UNE RELATION THÉRAPEUTE-PATIENT OU TOUTE AUTRE FORME DE RELATION PROFESSIONNELLE OU THÉRAPEUTIQUE. LE SERVICE NE REMPLACE PAS LES SOINS DE SANTÉ PROFESSIONNELS. SI VOUS CROYEZ AVOIR UNE URGENCE MÉDICALE, APPELEZ VOTRE MÉDECIN OU COMPOSEZ LE 911 IMMÉDIATEMENT.

Le Service canadien de prévention du suicide (« nous », « notre » ou « nos ») et ses employés, intervenants en cas de crise, fournisseurs de services, agents ou toute autre entité avec laquelle le Service canadien de prévention du suicide a conclu des contrats ne sont pas responsables des décisions ou des résultats des décisions que vous prenez pendant ou après votre participation au service. Cela comprend si vous choisissez de demander ou non des soins professionnels, ou de modifier ou de mettre fin à un traitement spécifique que vous recevez actuellement sur la base des renseignements fournis par le service. Vous êtes responsable de toutes les décisions que vous pouvez prendre ou non pendant et après avoir utilisé le service et assumez tous les risques liés à ces décisions.

PROTECTION DE LA VIE PRIVÉE, SÉCURITÉ ET COLLECTE DE DONNÉES

Nous nous engageons à vous fournir le meilleur service possible à tout moment. Les appels, les clavardages et les messages textes destinés aux services de crise du Service canadien de prévention du suicide peuvent être surveillés à des fins de formation et d’assurance de la qualité.

Nous prenons votre vie privée et votre sécurité très au sérieux. Des contrôles de sécurité, y compris le chiffrement et l’authentification, sont en place pour assurer la protection de vos renseignements personnels. Nous ne partagerons ni ne divulguerons vos renseignements personnels identifiables; cependant, nous nous réservons le droit de divulguer tout renseignement personnel aux autorités tel que requis ou permis par la loi, ainsi que d’autoriser l’embauche de services médicaux ou d’application de la loi pour effectuer une vérification de sécurité.

De plus, nous recueillons et conservons des renseignements, y compris le contenu des conversations qui se déroulent dans le service, que nous utilisons pour créer ou pour permettre à un tiers chercheur assujetti à une entente de confidentialité stricte de créer des renseignements globaux anonymisés, qui ne permettent pas d’identifier les utilisateurs individuels, aux fins de la recherche en assurance qualité et en prévention du suicide visant à contribuer au progrès des services d’intervention d’urgence. Les données issues des conversations recueillies, stockées et utilisées respecteront le principe du risque minimal. Les données seront recueillies, conservées et utilisées uniquement dans le but de mieux aider les clients, d’assurer l’assurance de la qualité et d’atteindre des objectifs de recherche clairement définis qui, selon nous, pourraient contribuer à l’élaboration de meilleures pratiques de prévention du suicide par les nouvelles technologies. Un examen annuel des données recueillies et conservées déterminera si les données recueillies seront supprimées définitivement ou conservées pendant une période limitée pour une ou plusieurs des fins énoncées dans la présente politique.

Nous pouvons partager ces renseignements agrégés, qui ne sont pas personnels et identifiables et tout contenu de conversations se déroulant sur le service, avec nos partenaires, chercheurs ou tierces parties à ces fins. Les informations permettant l’identification des utilisateurs individuels ne seront pas associées à ces renseignements globaux.

Malgré ces procédures, Internet est un environnement qui n’est pas parfaitement sécurisé et le Service canadien de prévention du suicide ne peut garantir la protection contre les intrus ou les intercepteurs. Vous acceptez d’utiliser le service et de soumettre des informations à vos propres risques. Vous convenez que le Service canadien de prévention du suicide n’est pas responsable de l’accès non autorisé au service.

CLAUSES DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ SUPPLÉMENTAIRES

Le service est fourni « tel quel » et « selon la disponibilité ». Le Service canadien de prévention du suicide et ses fournisseurs de services font de leur mieux pour maintenir un niveau de soins élevé. Toutefois, le Service canadien de prévention du suicide et ses fournisseurs de services déclinent expressément toute garantie de quelque nature que ce soit, expresse ou implicite, et ne donnent aucune garantie que le service sera en mesure de : A) répondre à vos exigences; B) être ininterrompu, opportun, sécuritaire ou sans erreur; ou C) répondre à vos attentes. Les clauses de non-responsabilité qui précèdent s’appliquent à tous les dommages ou préjudices, y compris ceux causés par tout défaut d’exécution, erreur, omission, interruption, suppression, défaut ou retard dans le fonctionnement ou la transmission, que ce soit pour rupture de contrat, comportement délictueux, y compris la négligence, ou toute autre cause d’action. 

Le Service canadien de prévention du suicide et ses employés, intervenants en cas de crise, fournisseurs de services, agents ou toute autre entité avec laquelle le Service canadien de prévention du suicide a conclu un contrat ne peuvent être tenus responsables 1) des mesures prises par vous ou un tiers, ou non prises par vous ou un tiers, ou 2) de l’indisponibilité du service, et vous acceptez de nous indemniser et de nous tenir à couvert des dommages découlant A) de votre utilisation du service, B) de votre violation des présentes conditions, C) de votre violation de la loi, D) des réclamations formulées par des tiers selon lesquelles vous avez enfreint les présentes conditions ou E) des renseignements fournis par vous par le biais du Service canadien de prévention du suicide. Sans limiter ce qui précède, le Service canadien de prévention du suicide ne peut en aucun cas être tenu responsable de tout dommage spécial, accessoire, consécutif, exemplaire ou indirect.

MODIFICATION DES CONDITIONS ET DE LA POLITIQUE DE CONFIDENTIALITÉ

Ces conditions peuvent être modifiées de temps à autre. Tout changement entrera en vigueur dès son affichage. Chaque fois que vous accédez à ce service, les conditions et la Politique de confidentialité en vigueur vous seront présentées pour acceptation. Vous devez accepter les conditions modifiées pour utiliser ce service.


Retour en haut